Guns are on the minds of many people today, whether you’re a gun owner or simply keep up with the news. Now, though, gun laws are making some changes across the United States, and as more people begin thinking about them, you might now want to learn a little more about gun charges and your case. 

So, what counts as a gun charge, and what could happen if you’re accused of a gun-related crime? Talk to your lawyer about the details of your case if you’re concerned about what happens next. 

Types of Gun Charges in Texas

When you’ve been arrested, or if a warrant is out for your arrest, understanding the charges against you is key to getting those charges dismissed. Once you know what the police think you did, you and your lawyer can get to work proving your innocence. 

Gun charges typically mean that you had a gun in your possession when or where you shouldn’t have. For example, you may have a license to own a gun, but if you carry that gun into certain schools, you could be charged with a gun-related offense. 

Below are a few other examples of gun charges: 

  • Unlawfully carrying a weapon
  • Carrying a firearm while committing a crime
  • Unlawfully transferring or selling a gun
  • Deadly weapon in a penal institute 
  • Unlawful carrying of a firearm as a licensed holder

Penalties for Texas Gun Convictions

If you’ve been arrested for a gun-related offense, understanding just how dire the penalties are is important. Those who may be expecting a slap on the wrist may be surprised when they don’t fight back and are left dealing with severe penalties. 

In many cases, you may be dealing with a Class A misdemeanor or a third-degree felony. Both options come with serious penalties, and they can affect your future in serious ways. 

For example, a Class A misdemeanor means you could spend up to a year in jail. That’s a year that you’re unable to work, have the freedom to spend time with your family, and spend time doing what you love. You’ll also be dealing with fines totaling up to $4,000 and a criminal record. 

If you’re charged with a felony, your penalties may be more severe. Now, you could be imprisoned for two to ten years, with fines up to $10,000. If you’re convicted of a felony, you may also be ineligible to keep your gun license. 

Protect Yourself from Severe Charges

If you’ve been accused of a gun-related crime, your future could be in danger. The charges are severe, and if you’re convicted, you could spend years of your life struggling to regain your life and get back to normal. 

That’s why we provide information about Texas’s legal statutes and what you need to know about your gun-related charges. If you’re facing criminal charges and you’re worried about your future, don’t take chances with it. Check out our website to learn more about your case.